New Blog Post

Well I’ve gotten poo at writing these consistently over just a couple of weeks so that is cool. I am still here lol. I fucked my right hand up righteously coming back from work on Tuesday. Actually managed to close my car door AROUND my thumb. It’s bruised as fuck now and only semi-useable for the timebeing. I went home from work early that day. Then got the next day off and just slept through half of it. Good thing it’s a long weekend so I have some time to recover before going back to work on Tuesday.  ouchy.jpg

In other news it SEEMS like I have got my new THICC large intuos pro tablet working, it feels pretty good so far. I  have finally got around to reading The Animator’s Survival Kit and I am committed to reading the whole thing probably multiple times. I also need to actually finish the Illusion of Life as well. Though, from what I have heard the consensus seems to be that the Survival Kit is better or more useful.

I also made a spreadsheet thingo to give myself a weekly goal of 40 hours a week on any of the following subjects, Drawing, Modelling, Animation, Acting and Game Dev.

productivity tracker.JPG

Still haven’t done very much lol, I guess my thumb being wrecked is a good excuse. However I was able to do a small bit of doodling on my wacom with my right hand. It’s also probably a good time to read more Animator’s Survival Kit and Directing the Story, and Illusion of Life.

directing the story.JPG

Dan the game animator who does Extra Frame made a video recently on becoming a game animator. He recommending this book named Game Anim and I think I am going to get it. Apparently it’s good for computer game animation which is what I wants to do.

game anim book.JPG

Ooh I know I shouldn’t have but today I spent the first half of it playing Katana Zero. Which is a real fun new game. It’s doing a lot of stuff I like. I think I have almost beaten it, but their might be other dialogue options I could do, not sure if they would lead to different choices but it might be worth a replay. I love games that are difficult/require twitch reflexes when they compliment that with an aesthetic that captures the feeling of living on a swords edge one mistake and you die. I get the same feeling with Hotline & Sekiro, especially it’s deflecting system. You can do the same thing easily with other stuff that suits. I got enjoyment from RDR2’s head shots which would for the most part one shot enemies and even the player.

katana zero.JPG

That’s it for this week. For me I guess it’s back to reading and maybe some drawing, we shall see.

 

Leave a comment